Agatha Crisp-ie Literary Cooking Adventure

Delicious desserts and death abound in my latest Literary Cooking Adventure. As a tribute to the wonderful Agatha Christie, I wanted to make something sweet and irresistible that wouldn’t have any chocolate. This winter, my chocolate consumption has gotten a little out of hand. Therefore, when I ran across a simple recipe for a triple berry crisp, I knew that would be just the thing to curb my chocolate addiction (I say as I mow down on a piece of chocolate chip banana bread).

Making said triple berry crisp was easy but only because I took a very ill-advised short cut. Since dropping nearly $400 on a new muffler for my car, my wallet’s been stretched about as thin as it’s going to get. Therefore, instead of buying fresh blueberries, strawberries, and black raspberries, I opted for a frozen mix of all three. The problem with a frozen mix is that it gets so much softer and juicier than the fresh ones and doesn’t have the right texture nor does it really plump up in the oven. It just kind of lies there like some sort of murky red soup…which doesn’t sound appetizing at all, does it?

The dry ingredients also seemed to out-match the wet ones in this dish and I found I had too much crisp and not enough berry to enjoy. I’ll definitely have to try this one again when I’m able to do a proper job and get the fresh fruit for it. Doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy it for yourselves though. Below you’ll find the recipe! Enjoy!

Ingredients

1 cup blackberries

1 cup strawberries

1 cup blueberries

1/2 cup old fashioned oats (or packet of instant oatmeal!)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup flour

3 tbsp sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup butter

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 375.

Cut strawberries and blackberries. Add with blueberries to a baking dish and combine with sugar.

In a separate bowl, combine old-fashioned oats (or packet of instant oatmeal) with brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. The instant oatmeal I used was cinnamon flavored as well, so it added an extra kick of flavor to the crisp.

Once all of these are mixed, add in 1/4 cup of butter (cut up in tiny cubes). Then cut the butter in. (By cutting it up into tiny cubes, it’s easier to mix with the dry ingredients.) You should have something that looks like dry crumbles when you are finished.

Pour your dry crumbles over the fruit in the baking dish, making sure to evenly coat it.

Bake for 30 minutes.

A delectable treat awaits you! Enjoy!

Stay tuned for the next Cooking Adventure and don’t forget to subscribe to my youtube channel and blog!

~KSilva

Leave a Reply

