Devil Bananas, The Walk, Fly Fishing, Typing Marathons, and More!

Yes. It has been quite some time. Much has happened in the last month or so. And while not all of the stories are fun, I would like to take a moment to focus on what has happened, what is happening, and what is going to happen. Call me the seer of seers, prognosticator of prognosticators…Wait. That’s from “Groundhog Day”.

Anyway, without getting all ‘Phil’sophical on you, I’ll get straight to what’s going to happen here in Katherineland.

I’ve been making plans for events this summer and fall and have worked up a pretty hairy schedule for myself. I’m not sure if this is going to make or break me yet but I’m excited for the possibilities heading my way. First and foremost is the New England Authors Expo Wednesday July 30th from 2pm to 8pm in Danvers, Massachusetts. I’ll be there with several other phenomenal authors (E.J. Fechenda, Rob Smales, Dave Philips, Scott Goudsward, Lynda Styles, and Vlad Vaslyn just to name a few…). It’ll be my first large scale event and I’m looking forward to learning from it and having a chance to meet some other great authors.

Next up to bat is GraniteCon September 13th and 14th in Manchester, NH. This will be my first convention. Well, I should say my first *official* convention. I’ve been to one before which was probably about the size of this show. I’ll be there with fellow authors from the New England Horror Writers, Scott Goudsward, Mike Arruda, Gordon Bean, and Sylvia Bourgoin. I’ll admit I’m a little more intimidated by this one as it’s an even larger scale than The NE Authors Expo. But I’ll be in good company and I’m sure it’ll be a fun and enjoyable weekend.

Just a week later, I’ll be up at the Ellsworth Public Library at 2:00 for a reading and book-signing for “Night Time, Dotted Line”. This was an event that, due to a scheduling hiccup of mine, had to be postponed. I’m eager to see Ellsworth’s beautiful library and spend some time sharing my book with everyone.

October brings another crap load of events with the 3rd annual Midcoast Halloween Readings. This year, I have about ten people signed up for three nights of fun and spooky stories. While I only have one night actually confirmed, I’m looking forward to getting the other two locked in by the end of the month.

And last, but certainly not least, is Rhode Island Comic Con. This is the biggest event and probably the scariest for me. While this isn’t set in stone quite yet, I’ve expressed interest in joining some of my fellow authors from the New England Horror Writers Association there in order to market my upcoming book (more on that later…). I’ll probably have news within another month or so about that.

And yes…we can’t forget about the book. How could we forget about the book?

For the last few months, I’ve basically been doing this:

I made a deadline for myself to have the fifth draft finished by March. Obviously, that was an impossible task to make it and so I’ve been trying to catch up in most of my spare time. I must admit that I am still not done yet. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel though and I’m sprinting there (whilst trying not to trip on a rock and go flying). The novel has taken many different turns than I’d thought it would. It’s surprised me a lot. To date, it’s been the most difficult book that I’ve worked on. It’s been a welcome puzzle though, a challenge for my mind. I’m dealing with more dark material than I’ve ever covered. Not only that, but I’m also telling the story from many more points of view, trying to create a more well-rounded story and world for these characters to exist in. It’s been fun. And it’s been a pain in the patooty. Regardless, I’ve got about 5 more chapters before the end. And then, I can start the painstaking process of editing the sucker to death… Yippee.

Memento Mori: Book 3 of the Monstrum Chronicles

The scramble to finish “Memento Mori” hasn’t left me too much time to write other things. You readers have no doubt noticed this due to the lack of Inspiration Through Music posts and Cooking Adventures. That doesn’t mean that I haven’t been in the kitchen slaving away on new and sometimes terrifying creations. It does mean however that most of the nefarious and terrible events that happened while making them have been lost to the sands of time.

My latest creation, banana and m&m pancakes for dinner (…I think I deserve it), were almost ruined by a single solitary frozen banana. A frozen, near expired banana. I was determined to use that sucker though. Even if that outside peel is turning black, if the inside looks good, I’ll still devour it. I’m not prejudice about my bananas. But, just so you know, it is never, EVER a good idea to try and thaw a frozen banana under hot tap water. Just…don’t do it. You’ll save yourself from the horrible image of sodden banana chunks floating free in your hands and slimy peel strips clinging to your fingers. After I’d managed to free said banana from it’s disintegrating prison of a peel, I had to process the pancake batter through the Magic Bullet and add the m&m’s…which melted, and dyed the batter a sickening rainbow of colors. At least the blasted things tasted good.

Banana M&M Pancakes

Other news: I learned how to fly fish this past Monday! And apparently I was a star pupil, according to the friend who taught me. Apparently, only about 10% of the people he clinics were able to learn what I learned in the amount of time that I learned it and be able to go the river and fish afterward. And fish I did! Well…I caught one. A little brown trout only about 8 inches long. But it was still a fantastic experience and I had so much fun. There was a slight incident with one of the waders having a hole in it. By the end of it, I was slogging around through the bushes with one boot while practically bouncing all anti-gravity like in the other. T’was interesting.

Oh and last, but certainly not least, I participated in a Relay for Life event that was set up by one of my best friends. It was a fun night. A group of about five of us walked a track at our local high school. We walked a total of 40 miles total (160 laps!) and raised nearly $600 for the American Cancer Society. I walked about 7 or 8 miles and definitely felt it the next day. And the day after that. And the day after that, haha. My friend walked 17 miles! That…is incredibly awesome. And she was up the entire night walking, whereas I skulked back to my bed at around 11, limping pathetically like Mickey from “The Screaming Skull”.

There. Now that I’ve given you a pretty good idea of what the last few months have been like, I’ll depart. I’m hoping to start posting new blogs soon. Once I get the book done that is. I’ve upped my hours again at my day job as well, and that doesn’t leave me with too much extra time. But there is hope on the horizon!

Stay tuned!

KSilva

Leave a Reply

