Ten Interview Questions For The Next Big Thing!

Good morning!

I’ve recently had the opportunity to participate in an online interview of myself and my WIP (works in progress) which I’m thrilled to do. As many of you know, I have several different items in the works right now but for this interview I’ll limit my focus to only three of them. First, though, I’d like to take a moment and thank Elizabeth Lawrence for the chance to be a part of this. You can find her blog here! Now, on with the interview!

What is the working title of your book? Currently, I have several projects in the works. Among them, I have a sequel to my first book coming out in October entitled Aequitas: Book 2 of The Monstrum Chronicles. I also have an indie novel that I’ve been working on for the better part of the year called, Night Time, Dotted Line and a WWI romance/thriller called You Fancy Me Mad.

*

Where did the idea come from for the book? My Monstrum Chronicles book series came from a project I started for an adult education course about four years ago. I had really wanted to try writing an urban fantasy, got really interested in my antagonist and decided to write a book with him as the protagonist. Night Time, Dotted Line evolved out of a adventure novel I started back in high school. I decided to use my own experience of traveling to an environmental conference as the basis for the characters’ road trip. You Fancy Me Mad was inspired from the idea of making the television series Downton Abbey into a thriller instead of a drama.

*

What genre does your book fall under? My books tend to cross genres often. The Monstrum Chronicles is a supernatural horror with romantic and action/adventure elements. Night Time, Dotted Line is an indie book, with a sort of comedic twist. You Fancy Me Mad is a historical thriller/romance (or what I like to call a histothromance).

*

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? In The Monstrum Chronicles, I’ve always had it set in my head that David Tennant would be Torrent and Josh Lucas would be Reid. In Night Time, Dotted Line, I’d already pegged Bradley Whitford as my main character, Spencer and Amanda Peet as Calleigh. And for You Fancy Me Mad, I really haven’t placed anyone in particular in my protagonist, Margaret’s, shoes. However, both Dan Stevens and Tom Hiddleston would be the mysterious men she encounters in the book.

*

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? For Aequitas: Lilitu (vampires) Torrent and Reid must team up to fight the most dangerous monster they’ve ever encountered. For Night Time, Dotted Line: Two strangers, one panicky dog, and 3000 miles of road between them and Oregon. For You Fancy Me Mad: All is fair in love and war.

*

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?All of these titles will be self-published to begin with. I may seek representation for Night Time, Dotted Line with a small Maine publisher later.

*

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? On average, it takes me two to three years to write a manuscript for a book in The Monstrum Chronicles. For shorter books such as Night Time, Dotted Line, it is between one or two years. I like to ensure that I take time to properly edit and lay-out each novel before publishing it.

*

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I’d compare The Monstrum Chronicles more to a video game series rather than a book series. The Legacy of Kain series for Playstation is similar in atmosphere to the series I’m writing. On the Road by Jack Kerouac and The Lost Continent by Bill Bryson are probably the closest things to Night Time, Dotted Line. You Fancy Me Mad is kind of tough to compare. It has elements of Bronte’s Jane Eyre and mystery like Agatha Christie’s Miss Marple mysteries, and a dash of madness from Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane.

*

Who or What inspired you to write this book? When I wrote the first book in The Monstrum Chronicles, I was interested in learning more about Reid’s character. He was only a secondary character in that book and I felt he needed a novel of his own. Hence came the idea for Aequitas. I’d deserted an action adventure novel a few years back with my characters Spencer and Calleigh and realized that I loved the characters too much and they had too much of an amazing chemistry together. I couldn’t just let them just sit in the back of a filing cabinet. So I came up with a new book idea with a much simpler premise for them in Night Time, Dotted Line. Honestly, my adoration of Julian Fellow’s Downton Abbey inspired me to write You Fancy Me Mad. It’s a darker twist on a historical romance. I feel as though that genre would be a great conduit to work some darker fiction in to.

*

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest? Aequitas is more than just a horror novel with vampires and monsters. There are a lot of human elements in these characters I write. The book also deals with the darker side of humanity, loss, trust, and responsibility. In fact, You Fancy Me Mad deals with very similar issues though in a non-paranormal setting. It’s for someone who may be a fan of Jane Austen or the Bronte sisters, but there’s an extra touch of darkness to it. Night Time, Dotted Line is a feel good novel that will lift spirits. It really is a road-trip book and several people will be able to empathize with what the characters encounter on their journey.

*

Phew! Lots o’ questions. Now it’s my job to tag 5 other authors of whom I’d like to share with you. I’ve met some pretty awesome writers in the last few years and all of them have incredible books. Take a gander at these fine folks and check out their books!

Jen Blood
Kevin Mills
Jeff Foltz
Andrew Maxcy
Meg North

Stay tuned for my Cooking Adventures blog tomorrow night!

~KSilva

Leave a Reply

