The End is Nigh!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted so I figured it was time to give you all an update. Yes, the sequel is almost finished. I have just one and a half chapters and an epilogue left to write for content purposes. Then begins the arduous sometimes painful process of editing the thing, ha ha.

I admit that I am relieved that the writing part of the project is coming to a close. I started writing this at the beginning of 2010. So far the book has gone through four rough drafts, all of which have been drastically different from one another. In that time span, I’ve started five other stories, three of them short, and two of them novels. I desperately would like some time to commit to those once I’ve finished the editing on ‘Aequitas’.

I love writing this series. I love the characters and the way the story is twisting in my brain. So much is happening in it that I had not at first expected. Torrent’s and Reid’s personalities have flourished and its now so easy to write as them that I can do it without much trouble at all. In the next three books, there are so many other fascinating characters to be introduced that I can hardly wait to get to them! But until I am able to do that, I will concentrate on finishing up ‘Aequitas’. If all goes according to plan, I should expect to start the self-publishing process with Maine Authors Publishing as early as January of 2012.

In other news, next week I’ll be running a week long Halloween special promotional and give-away that I’m very excited about. For more about that, please be on the watch next Sunday for my facebook author page as I will post details of it then. Then in another couple weeks, I’ll be involved in a reading at Slainte Wine Bar and Louge in Portland, Maine. I’ll be reading selections from “Vox” as well as a few from my upcoming sequel, “Aequitas”. I’ll have up to 15 minutes of reading time (which I have to admit, I’m a bit nervous about). Thankfully, some of my fellow authors from MAP gave me some helpful advice today. Thank you, Carol and Jeff!

News about other projects: I started a short story last week that tells the back story of a character named Cardea whom is introduced in ‘Aequitas’. It’s content that couldn’t be included in the book but is interesting as background character information. I’m planning to write two more pieces based on other important events in the sequel and publish these three stories in a companion book to go along side ‘Aequitas’ in the near future. Heh, that is if I ever find the time. (Ha ha…)

That’s all the news I have for today! Stay tuned for the blissful announcement of me being done with ‘Aequitas’ and other exciting things in the coming days!

Until then, good afternoon and happy writing!

~K Silva

Leave a Reply

