Short Story Madness!!

For the longest time, I believed it was impossible for me to write a short story, mainly because I get so caught up in the characters and the plot that I don’t want it to end! The last time I tried to write one was back in high school and it ended up being 101 pages long.

Seeing as how it’s been nearly 7 years since that attempt, I figured I’d try again. I’ve just begun work on a western/vampire themed short story in the vein of Deadwood. Haven’t seen the show? Watch it! Such a brilliant cast of characters and fabulous dialogue. It should have stuck around for another season so we could figure out how it was really supposed to end! Anyway, back to the short story.

I spent yesterday coming up with my characters, a basic plot, and the scenery and this morning dove into it, listening to some Patty Griffin, Wye Oak, and Kris Delmhorst. I’ve got 9 pages down so far. I’m hoping the story can stop around 50 pages so that I can include it in a collection of other vampire/lilitu related stories.

I think I alluded in my last post that I’ve had a burgeoning inspiration for dozens of lilitu short story ideas. The western idea was one. I still have about three or four others that I’d like to write. I figured I’d try to get as much of them down as I could so that it won’t interfere with my inspiration on book 2. I’m quite a ways along in Book 2. I’m still around page 300 but I’ve been doing a TON of editing and revising of previously written chapters. At present, I’m in the middle of chapter 20. I’d still like to finish it by Halloween but it may not be that easy. We’ll see…

I’m not sure if I’ve written about this already or not but I’ll include it regardless. I’ve signed myself up for my first reading in November down in Portland at Slainte Wine Bar and Lounge. I’ve never done a reading so I’m fairly excited for the experience. I’ll have more info about that as it becomes available.

And last but not least, I’d just like to exclaim the fact that I’M SO GLAD IT’S SEPTEMBER!!! So far this month, I’ve cleaned and re-organized my apartment, baked a chocolate zucchini cake (which was actually edible), made a couple videos, and I’ve written close to 20 pages. It feels like it’s been a long time since I’ve been so productive! The weather has also been pretty agreeable, too. Cool nights, warm days… I love it!

If you haven’t had a moment to check it out, please head over to the website and check out all the changes! I think it looks pretty nifty!

Until next time,

Good morning and happy writing!

KSilva

Leave a Reply

