Underwater in Chapter 17…

I’ve been working on chapter 17 of “Aequitas” for the last several hours. I think I can officially say that I have writer’s block. You know how they tell you to keep writing right through it? Well, I’ve tried it. I’m having such a terrible time. The character has just entered an underwater world in the Erebus, a place that few have ever gone. I’m having a tough time describing it because, frankly, I haven’t been in a pool, in the ocean, or in a lake in about two years!

You’re probably sitting there with a shocked expression yelling, “WHAT? Two years? WHAT?” You’d think, “Summer in Maine. There have been a few days where it’s been in the 90’s. A swim is in order.” No, my friends. I find myself so wrapped up with work and writing that I simply haven’t had the time to enjoy a nice swim. But now I’m really wishing that I could… for research purposes.

I spent the night watching videos of scuba divers and underwater documentaries, trying to put myself in their position, trying to imagine all of the feelings and emotions that come with being surrounded by water, of not knowing what might be below or above you, and most of all, about the beauty and terror that can accompany that experience. I’m also having a difficult time translating those feelings toward my character. You see, it doesn’t help that I also have a tiny phobia of being underwater. (I’m 1/2 Portuguese. I’m supposed to love the water! This doesn’t make any sense!)

Although I’ve been having some trouble with this chapter in “Aequitas”, I’ve pretty much decided exactly what is going to happen in Book 4 which will be the continuation of the events that happen in this book. Book 3 I’ve already decided will be a prequel to “Vox”, and it will detail the events that occurred in Seraphim City and how Torrent became mad. I’ve already written about a 1/3 on that book.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZ2Y-xntv_c

However, while checking out some videos on youtube, I came across this absolutely amazing video by OceansBelowKohTao. It depicts bull sharks swimming in Thailand. Brilliant underwater filming and some cool music as well. This definitely helped to inspire me for this chapter. After watching it again, it has actually sparked my inspiration once more. I love it when videos can do that!

Until next time,

Good afternoon and happy writing!

KSilva

Leave a Reply

