Dark Oz! YES!!

For those of you who don’t know, I am an EXTREME Oz fan. I try to collect all the memorabilia that I can find. I have special editions of the original book, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz as well as the Warner Bros. film version. I’ve started trying to collect all of the other Oz books, as well as the Wicked series by Gregory Maguire (even got to see the Broadway musical last year–finally!).

This morning, while fooling around on the internet, I came across a link to Welsh author Scott Stanford’s book Dorothy: The Darker side of Oz. I almost went wild with extreme mania. I have been waiting and waiting for someone to adapt the original story or write a sequel that drew on a darker version of the original. We’ve seen it done many times with Alice in Wonderland, first with American McGee’s Alice, a PC game, and then with Tim Burton’s oddly similar film last year.

Gregory Maguire’s Wicked series is expertly written, contains much more adult content, and reads like a contemporary novel with the familiar characters of the classic grown up as it were. But what I’d really been looking for is a more macabre version of the original. After reading the first chapter, I knew I wanted Stanford’s book.

Take a look at his website and see for yourself. I’m so excited to get this! One thing is for certain, when I get this excited about a book, nothing stands in my way!

http://www.darkersideofoz.com/home.html

Here is a website called Goodreads where you can read the first chapter for free and get a taste of the novel! http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/239389-dorothy-the-darker-side-of-oz-chapter-one?chapter=1

 

 

Leave a Reply

