Dressing up, selling books, and slugging lemonade in style!

Good evening! So much has happened since my last post!

I attended the Maine Literary Awards set up by Maine Writers and Publishers Alliance on July 14th. One of my best buds, Celena and I drove down from Camden all the way to Portland. The drive is normally (for me) an hour and a half. I drive like nobody’s business. However, we managed to get caught in traffic twice; once for a car accident (which seems to happen often when I’m trying to get somewhere by a certain time– but not to me of course), and the other for rush hour traffic on the Wiscassett bridge.

We finally made it to the Glickman Library on the University of Southern Maine’s campus. Of course, we were in such a hurry to get inside that I forgot my glasses in the car and had to stumble around the entire event half blind. Still had fun though. Even if I couldn’t see anyone’s faces.

In the elevator, we ran into Avery Yale Kamina from the Portland Press Herald. Coincidentally enough, she is the same person who took my picture at last year’s MWPA 35th anniversary party, with fellow authors, Fran Houston, Andrew Maxcy, and president of Maine Authors Publishing, Jane Karker. Once we got up to the party, she was kind enough to take a picture of Celena and I. We ran into fellow authors Jeff Foltz, Fran Houston, and Carol Willette Bachofner, who was nominated for a literary award in the short fiction category of poetry.

In all, the event was lovely. The awards ceremony was filled with laughter and gratitude. My pearl for the night was being able to listen to Robert Chute talk about his experiences with poetry as he collected an award for distinguished achievement.

The article from the Portland Press Herald can be found here: http://www.pressherald.com/life/audience/all_2011-07-17.html

You can also watch a video of the awards here: http://vimeo.com/26542093

On Sunday, I went down to Borders for my 2nd book signing as part of the Maine Authors Week. I was also sad to learn that Borders will officially be closing its doors. It was wonderful to be able to have the opportunity to get out there and have these book-signings there while it lasted.

I was joined by Carolyn Locke, author of Always This Falling, a collection of poetry. The day was very hot and though it did get busier just as I was leaving at 3, I speculated that there must have been allot of people at the beach that day. It was too nice to be inside. However, I did sell three books. One of my old teachers from middle school, who was on vacation in Maine from Virginia, stopped in and bought a book. I also sold one to one of the Borders employees who had picked it up the other day and had begun reading it.

Not long after the signing, my teacher informed me that she’d spoken to the manager of Owl and Turtle Bookshop in Camden. After much raving about the book, he’d decided to carry it there. I’m excited to say that they now have three signed copies there for sale! Thank you once again, Cindy Reardon, for all the support!

Lastly, today I finished up chapter 13 on book 2. I’m about half way through at the moment. I’m hoping that I can have the entire content written by fall or winter. So far, it’s looking to be a very exciting book and hasn’t turned out at all like I thought it would. I’ve even got a head start on books 3 and 4 now thanks to reusing some content from the earlier drafts.

Well, time to feed Mr. Lemon Jelly and get to work on the next chapter. ‘Til next time, happy writing!

~KSilva

Leave a Reply

