Always A Learning Experience

I am sitting in my living room, sipping my morning coffee, and gazing out at the overcast sky. I’ve started remembering back to a year ago today. Boy, the amount that has changed in that time. Back in March of last year was when I started my initial process of getting my book self-published. It’s been nearly six months since it finally hit publication. In that time I’ve learned so much about running one’s own business, marketing, and have really changed myself for the better.

To give you a more clear example of what I mean, I’ll tell you how I used to be back in school. I was (and still am a little) a very anti-social person. I always felt nervous in a crowd. I was always paranoid of what others thought of me and what they might be saying about me. I was always kind of alone but had a couple of very close friends. I was never brave enough to actually get involved in anything. And when I did, the involvement was half-hearted. But I was always convinced that I would get a book published no matter how long it took and that would be my career. I’d been thinking that since I was a child.

Now, at 22, I am finally living on my own, holding down a steady job, jumping out into the world to market my book on my own, and doing what I thought I’d never be able to do. I had been so focused on hiding in high school. And now I’m ready to be discovered. Something snapped within me a year and a half ago. I knew that I needed to reach out and grab this self-publishing opportunity by the horns. I had the money and the initiative. I’m so glad that I did it.

But the most important thing is that I’m still learning and still broadening my horizons as I continue with my writing career. And the more people that I meet and get to know, the more that I learn from them. I’ve gained allot of friends and supporters though this ordeal (and I’ve met my share of very interesting people, too). I wouldn’t change any of these experiences for the world.

Good morning and happy writing,

KSilva

Leave a Reply

