Sun vs. Moon

Ah, yes. The age old question that plagues many a writer. Does the inspiration come to you in the morning with a fresh potent cup of coffee, the rays of sun crossing over your fingers like silk as they dance over the keyboard…

Or do you take pleasure in writing in the evening, when the world has finally been invaded by the darkness, the moon is high and bright and the days distractions finally over so that you can concentrate?

Personally, as most people know, it really depends on the day. But for the most part, I’ve become quite the morning glory when it comes to writing. There is nothing better for me than feeding the cat, grabbing my coffee, and sitting down in front of the laptop to get some work done before the craziness of the day begins. Unfortunately this isn’t always the best time to get creatively inspired.

As I mentioned before in my first post, I have quite the pesky cat. Lemon Jelly proceeds to make this time of the morning the most difficult for me to get anything done. Take now, for instance. He is clawing at my closet door, trying to break inside. I’ve backed the computer chair up against it so he can’t pull it open but that doesn’t keep him from doing it anyway. Yesterday, he puked up a wonderful hairball on my white rug for me to clean, and I’m pretty sure the day before, he was clawing the armchair in the corner. By the time I’m ready to move, I’m pretty sure my security deposit will be shot. Thank you, Lemon Jelly. Thank you.

How can you not love him?

I also work a full time job in addition to my job as an author/writer. That’s nine hours of my day committed to something else, four days a week. So I have to pick my time to write carefully.

One thing that has made an impression on me is that any writing done in the time you have, is good writing. Doesn’t mean it’s going to win the Pulitzer prize though. I mean that getting any work done is progress. It keeps you motivated, it keeps your drive going. As long as I can say I’ve written for the day, no matter how much, I’m satisfied. That’s half the battle of staying in a good, optimistic mood while working on an extended project, whether it be a report, an essay, or… a novel.

Whether you write during the morning or the night, remember why it is you enjoy that time of day to write. My favorite thing about writing in the morning is the sun just coming up over the horizon. Every morning, I check the skyline and take pictures if it is truly amazing. Then I open the curtains, let the sun come in, curl up on the couch, and write. When it begins getting warmer, I’ll go out on the deck and do it.

If you write at night, try to relax into it. Make yourself a warm cup of tea, treat yourself to a cookie or something. Sit down with the computer like its an old friend. Then write. Open the window and let the night sounds in. Unless there is something going on out there you don’t want to hear of course. I opened my window one morning to a strange Amazonian rain dance or something of the like, with people shaking maracas and dancing around in circles like chickens, screeching at the sky. Definitely wasn’t expecting that. I live next to an arts center, so you never know what kind of program will be happening over there.

Music is also my saving grace when it comes to morning writing. As long as I can throw on a little something that relates to the topic I’m writing about, whether its trip-hop (one of my favorites), indie music, or even opera, I’ll be as perfectly happy as can be.

My point in this endless ramble? Create an atmosphere for yourself when you write, no matter what time you write. That way you are in your comfort zone and you are assured you’ll get something done, whether its a page or ten pages.

Good morning and happy writing.

KSilva

Leave a Reply

