World War I Era Desserts: A Worthy Workout

COOKING ADVENTURES # 9: Apple Porcupines and Soft Cinnamon Cookies

Ha. Ha ha. Ha ha ha. Ha ha *wheeze* ha *gasp* ha ha *snort*. HAHAHAHAHA! Basically I sound like this right now. I’ve just spent the last two hours in the kitchen, up to my arms in flour, molasses, and marmalade. That side of the apartment is probably 90 degrees. That’s the side of the apartment thatĀ neverĀ gets hot. The sweet aromas of cinnamon and apple swirl through the air, somehow even strong enough to cover the lovely scent of litter box nearby. I’ve done the dishes four or five times… I’ve lost count. I’ve used almost every single bowl, spoon, pan, and cutting board in my arsenal. I know what you’re expecting. A disaster. An absolute catastrophe. After all, that’s the only reason I could be laughing so hard like a nut job, right? To tell you the truth, I’m still surprised. Both creations turned out the way they were supposed to and taste magnificent.

Continue reading